Financial Responsibility commonly known as Liability Insurance is required on all vehicles operated or parked on California roadways.
You must carry evidence of financial responsibility in your vehicle at all times it must be provided as specified below when
Requested by Law enforcement.
Renewing vehicle registration.
The vehicle is involved in a traffic collision.
The minimum liability Insurance Requirements for private passenger Vehicle in The state of California are .
$15,000 for injury/death to one person
$30,000 For injury/death to more than one person
$5,000 for damage to property.
Liability Insurance Compensates a person other than the policy holder for personal injury or property damages.Comprehensive or collition insurance does not meet vehicle finnancial responsibility requirements.
The types of financial resposability are:
Motor vehicle liability insurance policy.
Cash Deposit of $35,000 with Dmv.
Surety Bond for $35,000 from a comapy
Lincensed to do business in California.
For information regarding cash deposit or self-insurance, contac DMV Fianacial Responsibility Unit at (916)657-6520 .